About Me and FAQ

Hello, Parents and Students!

The 2019-2020 school year is about to be underway, and I feel it is important for you to learn a bit about myself.  I have earned a Master’s degree in Instructional Technology from Kent State University and am also a graduate of the University of Mount Union with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education.  I am originally from Perry, Ohio (Lake County) where I graduated from Perry High School.  This is my twentieth year teaching in the Kenston School District.  I previously taught fifteen years here at KIS, 5th grade.  This is my fifth year as the Integrated Technology Teacher, and I am thrilled at the opportunity!  I have also come from a family of educators who have inspired me to become a teacher.

I live in Chardon with my husband and three children.  Rylie is in the 7th grade, and she will be running XC for Chardon Middle School this fall!  Ethan is in 3rd grade, and he loves to dress as any superhero and help his dad out with projects.  Mason, will be going into 1st grade this year, and he loves legos.

I love teaching, and I look forward to a great year!

 

 Frequently Asked Questions:

Q: Do you prefer cats or dogs?

A: Cats! I used a Himalayan named, Jax.  He passed away on Halloween, 2013.  We now have a cat named, Willow.

Q: What do you like to do when you are not teaching, grading, or preparing lessons?

A: I like to run, spend time with my husband, daughter, two sons, watch movies, enjoy a good cup of coffee, read, listen to books on CD, eat ice cream, and too much more to list!

Q: Do you have other teachers in your family?

A: My mother worked in a school for over 20 years. My great grandmother was a teacher, then was on the Kirtland School Board for years. From there, she then founded the tutorial program at Lakeland Community College. I have other aunts and family members who valued education and taught as well.

Q: What was your favorite subject when you were in 4th or 5th grade?

A: I think my favorite subject was math. I still love it!

Q: Where did you go to college?

A: I earned my Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education from The University of Mount Union (GO Purple Raiders!) and my Master’s Degree in Instructional Technology from Kent State University.

Q:  How many children do you have?

A: I have three: one girl and two boys. Rylie is 12, Ethan is 9, and Mason is 6 years old.

Q: Do you drink coffee?

A: YES!!! 🙂